Book in with Jackie Lynam at or look on the Contact page and book in through the website.


Presentation 2017

📁 General News 🕔04.December 2017
Presentation 2017


PMXC Presentation 2017

Southampton Novotel

25th November 2017

Report by Kay Kennedy

Images courtesy of

Well, Portsmouth MX Club certainly know how to put on a great presentation evening!! Nearly 500 riders and guests crammed into the Southampton Novotel on Saturday night to celebrate their achievements during 2017, and what a superb night it was!

Just four shy of 200 championship trophies awaited to be presented, plus over 40 prestigious perpetual awards too!

The club, as always, was honoured to have “their rider” Shaun Simpson back on stage to hand out all the awards, a real gentleman and a favourite with everyone involved at PMXC.

With the buffet being quickly demolished it was down to business, with riders who had ridden at every round receiving certificates of recognition, who were then followed up on stage by the MCF Team Event champions!!!  The perpetual trophies were awarded next and many congratulations to every rider who was recognised in the perpetual honours list, everyone truly deserved to be awarded!!

A special well done to James O’Mara who was justly recognised for his outstanding sportsmanship throughout the season, and at the tender age of 13 showed great maturity and abandoned his race to ensure a stricken rider was not seriously injured.  This not only rewarded James with the Shaun Simpson Rider of the Meeting award at Bere Regis, and as well as sitting on the second step of the podium at the end of the year, winning the Freeman Frostbite trophy for winning the 2016/17 Winter Series, plus achieving the highest points scored in the SW85 to receive the Consistency award, he was also rewarded with the Sportsman of the Year award – well done James!!

The glistening silver championship trophies were eagerly awaiting to be partnered with their rider, and with beaming faces they were quickly collected, and photos were taken with Shaun.

Many congratulations to the newly crowned Club Champions – Auto Jacob Collins, Junior Charlie Richmond, SW85 Charlie Nightingale, BW85 Thomas Casbeard, Rookies Lewis King London, MX1 Jake “don’t hurry yourself” Penny, MX2 Luke Kennett, who along with son Casey also grabbed the Parent & Child award, and last but by no means least, in the VMX Darren King, who’s whopper bundle of championship points also rewarded him with the Consistency award AND the Most Consistent Rider of the Year award.

The final award of the night was the most prestigious of the event, the Martin Schmidt trophy for Rider of the Year. This was voted on by all the riders who they chose from the list of Shaun Simpson Riders of the Meeting throughout the season.  No stranger to the club, nor to the award itself it was a pleasure to announce Nicky Watts as the 2017 Rider of the Year! An outstanding rider, who not only dominates the MX1 class, and only missed out on a podium position due to only managing to compete in seven rounds all year, but he is one of the nicest riders out there, always willing to lend a hand to any rider, or give a pep talk to those trying to improve themselves in the sport.  Many congratulations to you Nicky, a brilliant end to your season.

With the trophies all handed out, it was a time to thank all those who make sure the club runs as smoothly as it does, flowers to all the girls, then it was time for the raffle and the disco.  Another perfect end to a fantastic season!!

The club would like to thank every rider and their family for their support throughout 2017, as well as the caterers, trade stand, photographers, medics, marshals and everyone who has helped make the club as big and great as it is today!  A huge thank you also must go to the trophy sponsors!

Thanks must go to Kay Kennedy who superbly organises this event year in, year out as well as dealing with all the club administration throughout the year, along with all her fellow Committee and Officials – Martin Bradbury, Ray Chandler, Sherry & Steve Rogers, Debbie Upton, Jackie & Phil Lynam, the Warren Family, Lisa & Richard Milsted, Tony Hale, Ian Anthony, Dave Benfield – an amazing group of people who the club couldn’t do without!

Roll on 2018 ………………….

Trophy Winners:

Auto: 1 Jacob Collins, 2 Jake Webb, 3 Arash Deering, 4 Fabian Junior Morrison, 5 Blu Kinch, 6 Kian Duell.

Junior: 1 Charlie Richmond, 2 Kieran Paget, 3 Connor Williams, 4 Mitchell Woodward, 5 McKenzie Saunders, 6 Ben Sullivan.

SW85: 1 Charlie Nightingale, 2 James O’Mara, 3 Tyler Kirby, 4 Max Brazier, 5 Cody Spacagna, 6 Harrison Hopwood.

BW85: 1 Thomas Casbeard, 2 Tobias Sammut, 3 Robert Storer, 4 Domonic Newbury, 5 Jack Milsted, 6 Jake Wotherspoon.

Rookies: 1 Lewis King London, 2 Charlie Razzell, 3 Callum Allison, 4 Liam Brosnan, 5 Brandon Hickman, 6 Xavier Cook.

MX1: 1 Jake Penny, 2 Carl Turner, 3 Craig Daffin, 4 Bradley White, 5 Nicky Watts, 6 Stewart Ewens.

MX2: 1 Luke Kennett, 2 Olivier Cook, 3 Tallon Aspden, 4 Craig Cartwright, 5 Ricky Humphrey, 6 Bradley Wheeler.

VMX: 1 Darren King, 2 Tony Hale, 3 Mark Morris, 4 Matt Lewis, 5 Paul Spacagna, 6 David Freestone.

Consistency: Auto Jacob Collins, Juniors Kieran Paget, SW85 James O’Mara, BW85 Robert Storer, Rookies Charlie Razzell, MX1 Jake Penny, VMX Darren King.

Triers Shield: Auto Josiah Doggett, Juniors Louis Sheasby, SW85 Stella Milsted, BW85 Alex Watts, Rookies Aiden Gaizley, MX1 Bradley White, VMX Roger Hanley.

Freeman Frostbite: Auto Mitchell Woodward, Juniors Cody Spacagna, SW85 James O’Mara, BW85 Jack Milsted, Rookies Preston Williams, MX1 Nicky Watts, VMX Martin Bradbury.

Most Improved Rider – Samuel Upton

Most Improved Auto – Huey Welch

Most Promising Newcomer – Fabian Junior Morrison

Most Consistent Rider – Darren King

Girl Trier – Stella Milsted

Girl Rider – Elizabeth Ridout

Holeshot Award – Tobias Sammut

Most Improved Rookie #23 – Jesse Wren

Sportsman of the Year – James O’Mara

Worker of the Year – Dave Benfield & the marshal crew

Parent & Child Trophy – Luke & Casey Kennett

Rider of the Year – Nicky Watts



Share this article with friends